Video

TED Talk: Salman Khan: Let’s use video to reinvent education

Ah… my first blog post, how exciting! Like most students, when faced with a question, challenge or problem, I turn to the internet! While browsing, I stumbled upon this amazing TED Talk.

What I particularly liked about this video was the use of humour to keep the audience entertained. I laughed when he mentioned: “Here I was, an analyst at a hedge fund. It was very strange for me to do something of social value.”

Being a student, I can relate to Khan’s emphasis on “humanizing the classroom.” Often, I have felt like a zombie, mindlessly recording notes. Khan proposed the idea to allow students to go over the lecture material, via his online videos, as a form of “homework” the night before lecture. This would allow the professor to go over problems during class time to reinforce understanding of the topics discussed in the online videos. This also provides students the opportunity to learn the material in the comfort of their home and at their own pace.

The developers of Academic-Zone have taken a similar approach with their learning modules—offering resources that students can explore 24/7/365, at their own pace and based on their own need. As a student, I believe Academic-Zone is an easily accessible resource for today’s student and addresses many of the issues discussed in this video.

If this topic interests you, read more about it here!: http://blog.ted.com/2014/01/15/salman-khans-ted-talk-ignited-the-conversation-about-online-education-why-hes-doubling-down-on-the-school-of-the-future/

If you enjoyed this post and/or have any comments or thoughts about Khan’s video, please leave me a comment.
Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

